Apropos of nothing, symbolic of all marriages

I normally couldn’t care less about celebrity news and romances (which one is Kim Kardashian again?), but I gasped this afternoon when I was on Twitter briefly and saw Ashton Kutcher’s tweet:

I will forever cherish the time I spent with Demi.

Marriage is one of the most difficult things in the world and unfortunately sometimes they fail. Love and Light, AK

Oh, the rumors were true. Infidelity dooms another marriage.

While I believe marriages can survive infidelity, my first marriage didn’t and I learned enough from that debacle to know monogamous commitment is paramount to a successful coupling. Even if you have monogamy, there are no guarantees your marriage will endure, but if you don’t even have monogamy, well, dissolution is even easier to contemplate.

I sort of admired the relationship Demi Moore managed to maintain with her ex, Bruce Willis, and I secretly thought her to be lucky to score a man 16 years younger than her. On the other hand, perhaps the age difference put inordinate pressure on her to compete. I know when my first husband was cheating on me with younger women, I illogically focused on my weight and appearance. When I saw pictures of a gaunt Demi haunting around the paparazzi recently, I felt like I understood her.

Nonetheless, Ashton is right about two things: Marriage is difficult. And it’s unfortunate when it fails.

Leave a Reply

