Finally … a new New Year’s resolution

For years on New Year’s Day, I would resolve to write more and finish my book.

And for years, I made negligible progress.

Until 2011.

When I was laid off last summer, I finished the manuscript I started five years ago. I give a lot of credit to my husband, who lovingly pushed me to get it out of my system.

I also had an editor look at it and sent a book proposal to 20 agents.

After 13 rejections, it seems the story that took five years and a mountain of self-revelation to write doesn’t tickle the mass market fancy.

So this year, instead of resolving to write more and finish my book, I resolve to explore the self-publishing market and get my book out in the world on my own terms.

(For a peek at my other New Year’s Resolutions, check out my personal blog. I will point out, for the permanent record, that I wrote 303 posts in 2011 — in addition to finishing my manuscript.)

2 thoughts on “Finally … a new New Year’s resolution

  1. Congrats!
    I’ve heard that traditional publishers have been playing it safer and safer by only publishing mainstream stuff since the recession… discouraging for people who don’t write in a popular genre, but I’m certain there’s still demand for other books. 🙂

  2. Pingback: This resolution is a stretch | Minnesota Transplant

Leave a Reply

