If you don’t pre-write, be prepared to get very familiar with your story

When one doesn’t pre-write, one ends up post-writing.

Here is the pile of drafts of my manuscript: Rough draft, draft 2, draft 3, editor’s draft, I-can’t-look-at-this-anymore-draft, I-don’t-care-anymore-draft, draft for attorney, time-to-shake-off-the-dust-and-do-something-with-it draft, etc.

I never pre-write for my blog posts, and some days, that lack of effort shows. If I ever were to publish excerpts from my blog, I would have to spend a lot of time adding context, strengthening arguments and correcting typos.

The extent of my pre-writing for my 200-page book was about the same. I created a timeline scribbled on a scrap of paper I can no longer locate. I tried about four different outlines, but in the end, I let the story tell itself.

And now I’m trying the beat the story back into submission.

One thought on “If you don’t pre-write, be prepared to get very familiar with your story

  1. I am writing a novel by the seat of my pants. Wish to god I had an outline because the further I get, the harder it becomes. And I HATE having to re-read everything to make sure I tie details together properly. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

