Boldly going

Enough with the second guessing and procrastination.

As a marketer, I’ve discovered you can prove anything with focus groups and statistics. There’s always somebody out there who likes wrinkle creams that don’t actually erase wrinkles or chocolate-covered crickets or Charlie Sheen.

So I’ve had enough of getting other people’s opinions on my manuscripts. I’ve gotten a lot of good feedback that has improved my book immeasurably, and I appreciate it very much but I’m through with looking for outside validation. I’m going to follow my gut.

Be brave enough to live life creatively. The creative is the place where no one else has ever been. You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. You can’t get there by bus, only by hard work and risk and by not quite knowing what you are doing. What you’ll discover will be wonderful. What you’ll discover will be yourself.

~ Alan Alda

I thought about doing a poll on the proposed titles for my book, but no. Instead of “The Drum Line: A Memoir of a Sex Offender’s Wife,” I’m going with “The Percussionist’s Wife: A Memoir of Sex, Crime & Betrayal.” I hope you love it. And if  not, well, you might like the book anyway.

I’ve been mulling over a book cover, too. Since I’m publishing my book myself, the book cover is up to me, too. My brother-in-law offered some striking ideas:

And I thought about getting some professional photography done of … something … I didn’t know what. But maybe something like “The Night of the Gun” by David Carr:

And I pondered taking a vibrant text-only approach, a la Leslie Morgan Steiner’s “Crazy Love”:

But my gut said otherwise. Synchronicity brought me to the Elk Grove Village Public Library recently, where artist Peggy Schumm was showing a painting. And I liked it. So I grabbed one of her business cards and gave her a call, and we had a great talk about my book and ideas for the cover.

To heck with casting a wide net and interviewing multiple artists and collecting proposals. I’ve commissioned Schumm to create my book cover, and she’s working on it right now.

How exciting. My gut is all aflutter.

You own everything that happened to you. Tell your stories. If people wanted you to write warmly about them, they should’ve behaved better.

~ Anne Lamott

2 thoughts on “Boldly going

  1. Pingback: Commencement: Despite the dictionary definition, it’s just an ending | Minnesota Transplant

Leave a Reply

