When a detour yields to a better way

The song lyrics are out.

Each chapter in “The Percussionist’s Wife” begins with a quote of some sort, in some cases lyrics. But lyrics to Prince’s “1999” and Alanis Morissette’s “I’m A Bitch” (that line “I’m a sinner, I’m a saint” is so apropos) are next to impossible to obtain, let alone for free, and I’m to understand the music business is “extremely litigious.” I don’t need any more legal risks than I’ve already got, so I’m changing all the song lyrics to other quotes.

The lyrics to Chris de Burgh’s song “Lady in Red” had to be axed. The passage now reads:

Chris de Burgh’s song “Lady in Red” was playing on the radio.

“You were the lady in red tonight,” Steve whispered as he held me in his arms. “The beauty by my side. I’ll never forget the way you looked tonight. I love you, Monica.”

Probably better this way anyway.

One of my favorite non-lyrical quotes is this one, which heads a chapter filled with prevarication:

“It depends on what the meaning of the word ‘is’ is.
If the – if he – if ‘is’ means is and never has been, that is not – that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement.”

~ President Bill Clinton
in a 1998 deposition relating to the Monica Lewinsky affair

3 thoughts on “When a detour yields to a better way

    • Yeah, circles is right. That’s what a man does when he’s lying and can’t even admit it to himself! Even a president.

Leave a Reply

