My memoir now has a due date (and a cover and a Facebook fan page!)

Look what arrived in the mail today:

The proof of the paperback version of “The Percussionist’s Wife” is now in my hot little hands. A real, live book (if a book lives). With my name on the cover.

It turned out beautifully. I found a few words and pages to fix in the interior, but the quality and color rendering of the cover are exactly as they should be. No surprises.

The cover image was painted in oil exclusively for me by artist Peggy Schumm, who spent time consulting with me and reading my book proposal. It sets the right tone for what’s inside. See more of her work here. I’m so pleased with what she created for me.

Because I used my own artwork, I could not use the templates available on CreateSpace. Simply too limiting (and frankly, not very eye-catching). So I designed the cover in QuarkXPress.

With my cover in shape, I created a Facebook fan page today, too. “Like” it if you like at Monica Lee Writer.

Now I am preparing for launch day — Monday, Aug. 27, just in time to get a great read for the last long weekend of summer. Looking for a memoir? Something in the “true crime” genre? A story of love (and divorce)? “The Percussionist’s Wife” will scratch that itch.

The countdown begins!

8 thoughts on “My memoir now has a due date (and a cover and a Facebook fan page!)

  1. Pingback: ‘The Percussionist’s Wife’ is most popular on Kindle; here’s why | Monica Lee

Leave a Reply

