Toot! Toot!

“If you don’t toot your own horn, no one will hear your music.”

~ Jane Carroo

I heard this gem from a friend, Jane Carroo, author of “The Simplesizing Break” (Clutter Coach Co., 2009).

Though the former wife of a musician, my music comes in the form of words, most recently my memoir, “The Percussionist’s Wife.”

The music is swelling recently. I was interviewed by a local reporter last week, featured today in The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead (read the story here) and I’m slated to talk to another Minnesota reporter sometime this week.

As a native Minnesotan, I was raised to let my work speak for itself (we Minnesotans are a staid bunch, don’tcha know), but to my fellow self-published authors, I’ll note I helped amplify the work a bit by sending press releases to about 15 newspapers which might be interested in my work for one reason or another.

Why cultivate for press coverage? Reporter Meredith Holt captured this quote from me: “I ultimately decided to publish it … for other people, especially people who are in a place similar to where I was – married to someone behaving badly.”

It feels a bit strange to call attention to my mistakes but I’m doing so to help others. No one is perfect, but some of us need to be reminded of this disharmony. Sharing my secrets opens the door to others to share theirs (and, I hope, offers a good read, as well). As I wrote in my memoir:

“My actions in 2006 unmasked me and revealed like an overexposed photograph the parallel lives that Steve and I had been leading. And when the veil was gone, I discovered the real and flawed and wonderful faces of others.”

Leave a Reply

