And so it begins again

I started my latest WIP today.

Everywhere I lurk online, someone is using “WIP” like it’s secret code for “cool.”

It stands for work in progress, and thanks to NaNoWriMo, I’m hard at work on it. (Cool, huh?)

NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. I participated in it in 2009 and got about 15,000 words written for “The Percussionist’s Wife: A Memoir of Sex, Crime & Betrayal.”

Subject matter this time around? 1982. I’m reaching way back to when I was in ninth and 10th grades and attempting to write a prequel to “The Percussionist’s Wife.” I wrote the outline on a napkin so I have some idea where I’m going but I already know this book is going to be semi-autobiographical instead of “all dialogue and events took place as I remember and recount them.”

Here’s a teaser of some of the 1,571 words I wrote today:

I admired Carrie for her never-say-die attitude, but she scared me sometimes, too. In eighth grade, she had a boy-girl party at her house and we played Truth, Dare, Double Dare, Promise or Repeat. It was the pits. TBN got dared to kiss me, and he did! Oh, for gross!

One thought on “And so it begins again

  1. Pingback: Rise and shine, baby, we’re on the road again | Minnesota Transplant

Leave a Reply

