An author’s favorite gifts

Among my New Year’s Resolutions is to read a book a week.

I probably won’t accomplish it for a whole year, but we’ll see if I can make a dent in my reading pile by reading prodigiously for a few months. Apparently, I’ve made it clear I’m a big fan of reading, and I got a lot of books for Christmas.

Image

Here’s what I received as gifts. I’m particularly excited about “The Gift,” given me by my sister. Its subtitle is “Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World.” I received a few more titles, too, including “Phraseology,” another title by Lorna Landvik and two cookbooks.

A couple of friends also lent me a number of titles over the holidays.

Image

“The Art of Fielding” comes highly recommended to a baseball fan.

And, naturally, I couldn’t resist picking up a couple of books at the bookstore:

Image

Jodi Piccoult’s “Lone Wolf” hold particular interest in the the aftermath of the shootings in Connecticut. After that one, I’ll need a little Tina Fey humor.

But here’s the best gift for an author, bestowed to me by my mother:

Image

Leave a Reply

