Nothing like a little crass humor to break up a workout

Author Stefanie Wilder-Taylor writes her memoir like I would like to write one: Filled with sarcasm, humor and obscenities.

I’m just too Minnesota Nice to pull it off courageously. And not nearly as funny. (I’m trying, however; the reader’s note for my current work in progress, a memoir of the year I turned 15 and learned to French kiss reads like this in draft form: Some of the events in this book actually occurred. Some of the people exist, too, but they’ll probably take issue with how I remember them. I changed most of their names. Wadena, Minnesota, is a real place, and I went to school there in 1982. Beyond that, most of the dialogue in this book is entirely fictional, and I rearranged the occurrence of many events create a better story. If you like it, then the liberties I’ve taken with the truth will be worth it. If you don’t, you can tell everyone the Reader’s Note was the best part of the book.)

wildertaylorBut if you’re a memoir fan looking for a humor fix, “It’s Not Me, It’s You: Subjective Recollections From a Terminally Optimistic, Chronically Sarcastic and Occasionally Inebriated Woman” is your book.

It is not as packed with laugh-out-loud humorous metaphors as Jen Lancaster’s “Bitter Is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smartass, Or, Why You Should Never Carry A Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office” (a book I thoroughly enjoyed by the way), but Wilder-Taylor’s writing reminded me a bit of Lancaster’s and it’s got enough funny to preoccupy me while I spent hours (seemed like it anyway) on the stepmill at the gym.

Wilder-Taylor’s chapters are a little bit disconnected in the beginning, but her storytelling gets better as the book progresses and I found myself cheering for her by the end.

Thanks to one of the readers of my memoir, Stefanie, for sending Wilder-Taylor’s book my way with the note “Enjoy!” I appreciate it!

 

One thought on “Nothing like a little crass humor to break up a workout

  1. Pingback: A year in books at Minnesota Transplant’s house | Minnesota Transplant

Leave a Reply

