A taste of my work in progress

The way to eat an elephant is one bite at a time.

Here’s today’s bite of my current elephant, also known as my work in progress, the story of the year I turned 15 and learned to French kiss:

Reuben asked me to the movies. I didn’t really want to go, especially after he scared me on Amy’s porch, but I didn’t really have any good excuses so I agreed. Then he passed me a note in science class that said, “Do you mind if we hold hands and neck?”

“That’s what he said!” I was aghast when I told Jill in the hall after class. I shoved the note into her hands and she received it like it was used toilet paper.

“Calm down,” she said, handing the note back to me. “Just ignore it until he asks again.”

“What about the movies?”

“Go. Just pretend you forgot about the note.”

0 thoughts on “A taste of my work in progress

  1. Pingback: Trivial pursuits | Minnesota Transplant

Leave a Reply

