A new year, a new perspective

Keen-eyed readers may notice I’ve changed the tagline on this blog.

It used to read: “A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.” ~ Richard Bach

People who sell their talents for money instead of, say, hamburgers are considered pros, and I’ve sold enough books to be considered a professional writer. I decided. And I get to decide — it’s my blog.

So my tagline now reads: “Do you need someone to make you a paper badge with the word WRITER on it before you can believe you are one? God, I hope not.” ~ Stephen King

King has another great quote in his book “On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft” and though it might not be appropriate for this blog, it’s probably pretty apt for my work in progress:

Sometimes you have to go on when you don’t feel like it, and sometimes you’re doing good work when it feels like all you’re managing is to shovel shit from a sitting position.

Leave a Reply

