New book available May 12: Help me decide which cover

Finally, two and half years after the publication of my memoir, I’m ready to release my second book. It’s a memoir of sorts but also a self-help book. More about the content in a minute. First, I need your help. Yes, you. A potential reader. Or maybe someone simply interested in what I’m up to. Will you help me choose a cover for my new book? How about if I tell you there’s something in it for you?

If you make a comment to this blog post about which cover you like (and, if you’re feeling talkative, why you like it), I’ll randomly choose someone from among all those who comment to win a FREE color copy of the book when it comes out, slated for May 12.

The title of my new book is …

How to Look Hot & Feel Amazing in Your 40s: The 21-Day Diet, Exercise & Everything Makeover Plan

Ooh, sounds interesting. What’s it about? Here’s the book blurb:

Can you look and feel better in twenty-one days? Absolutely, you can. But Monica Lee didn’t always think so. When she entered that phase of womanhood called perimenopause, she fell into a rabbit’s hole where the world was filled with muffin tops, aches and pains, and indelible wrinkles.

Maybe that’s where you’re at: Sick and tired of being sick and tired. This plan is for you. It’s just the jump-start you need. Or maybe you’re in decent shape but staring down a big event like a class reunion or the wedding of one of your children. This plan is for you, too. You’ll look and feel your absolute best after twenty-one days and be ready to circulate your confident self among all your adoring fans—friends, we mean friends!

How to Look Hot & Feel Amazing in Your 40s: The 21-Day Diet, Exercise & Everything Plan is a combination health-and-fitness memoir and a to-do list. [Indie publishers are allowed to do that–to bust genres.] Author Monica Lee shares her formula for being healthier, stronger and hotter in this step-by-step plan she herself used to recapture her youth.

Adapt each day in this doable plan to suit your body, your means, your tastes. This book is designed to be a guide to the activities to which every woman in her 40s should pay attention.

Complete with checklists and pictures. Yes, I had a photo shoot. (And it was glorious! Thank you, Traci at Traci Palmer Photography) And those pictures formed the basis for the following possible covers (here’s where I need your help):

Option 1

Option 1

Option 1

We’ll call this the “dressy” option.

Option 2

Option 2

Option 2

This is the “jeans” option–an all-American Midwestern woman.

Option 3

Option 3

Option 3

Here’s me as a tough girl (as tough as I get in my 40s).

Which cover do you like best? Which one makes you want to run out and buy a copy right now? Comment below by April 14. One of you will be randomly chosen to receive a color copy signed by yours truly.

Interested in getting your hands on a copy no matter what? The Kindle version is available for to pre-order right now. Yes, you can pre-order the e-book right here. Both the e-book and the paperback will be available May 12 (just in time for season of class reunion, beach bathing and weddings).

Thanks for your help!

37 thoughts on “New book available May 12: Help me decide which cover

  1. Vote cover 1. Definitely feel the playful sexy ,not overlyposed image is strongest draw. I’m the person who’d by this book and is definitely not buy #3 cause the biceps is not why I’d want to read this. Cover # 2 is good too–makes me think ‘hey I like her maybe she gets me’ good luck girl friend! Love ya

  2. I like the “tough girl” option 3 — congrats on the new book. Just finished reading “The Percussionist’s Wife” so that’s why I definitely say “tough girl”!

  3. I like them all, but I most like the one of you on the steps in the dress because it is adorable and more about being fun and confident.

  4. I’m going with the dressy option because you look “hot in it and in my fortys that would be appealing. I think it has the Wow” that would sell me , although 2 would be closer to the truth!

  5. I like them all! But if I had to pick these are my initial feelings: I like the dressy one the best for the cover, it’s fun, flirty, and the picture could be taken anywhere. I feel like option three would leave the potential reader to think it’s mostly about working out. I feel like option two is too “countryish”. Like your staying in shape because your working on a farm kinda feel (because of the background). Just my 2 cents! I need to read this book! I’m there right now😉

  6. I like option 2 for the cover. One is just a little too “shamanshy pansy” and three is like a workout look which there are just too many of this we out there already. Two makes it look like you’ve got it goin’ on girl! Casual but sexy and comfortable in your own skin. Which is what most forty year old women want to be! I’m looking forward to reading it! Maybe it can take me from my mid 50’s back to my 40’s! Wouldn’t that be somethin’! Good luck in your decision!

  7. the good thing is -you can’t go wrong with any of them! Number 3 looks like it’s all about exercise. number 2 I have to agree with Lori h it seems very “countryish” while #1is flirty and fun so my vote is #1. I’m super proud of you Monica !!

  8. These are awesome!
    I was torn between 1 & 3 until I read the other comments. #1 for sure! #3 is too exercise driven (although I REALLY like the colors) and #1 still shows off your muscles but I’m not 100% sold on the text formatting, I like how 2 and 3 make the title standout more from the description.

  9. Your entire goal goal is to sell books to women. Empower women. So it has to be #3. big smile, action. Gotta Catch they eye and get some on to stop. Personally I like #2 the best as it suits you. #1great too. But, the comments here are from people who know you. Any woman can look happy or content with out a book. Midwest hot and city hot alienate people. All women can workout in the same way. You look positive and hot…muscle hot at that.
    A cover must hit the largest population of your target.

  10. Well..Shari just said “no pete…I am that market. The one standing there content, knowing she is happy. That caught my attention. I dont need to see her showing off her muscles. I would not buy that book. I wanna be the other picture…who wouldn’t”

  11. Hi Monica, I like #1. You look so approachable.
    Met you on Saturday and wanted to email you but this is the only contact info I have for you.
    Just wanted to drop you a note to tell you how much I enjoyed chatting with you on Saturday and how much your story intrigued me. I just purchased THE PERCUSSIONIST’S WIFE for my kindle and am excited to read it! I must say that sometimes when I read the free excerpts on Amazon, I’m disappointed by the quality of writing. Yours is the opposite. Even reading your prologue impressed me!

    I’ll also be looking into the APH info you shared, thanks for that!
    You can see pics from Saturday’s event at http://www.karenlboncela.com and https://www.facebook.com/WordsToLoveBy.KLB?ref=hl

    I will be happy to write a review on Amazon once I’ve completed your book! I know how important each one is! 🙂
    You can email me if you like. Would be nice to bounce ideas off of one another.

  12. Pingback: Flying blind in the peace and quiet | Minnesota Transplant

  13. Have to agree with everyone who’s chosen #1 – syncs up best with the title. You look great! So good to see you living your dreams, Monica.

  14. Pingback: What an author thinks when she finds her own book in the stacks at the library book sale | Monica Lee

Leave a Reply

