A word count in any forum counts for something (at least in my mind)

Well, it’s National Novel Writing Month and the guilt is settling on my soul like wet fog on a swamp. There’s no sunshine here.

I haven’t posted on this blog since May 30, a month I posted four times here and felt pretty proud of myself. And then I realized I hadn’t written Word One on my WIP, and I thought What’s the point? On that day, I promised myself not to write a blog until I’d written something — anything — on my WIP first.

Well, you can see how that worked out. I didn’t write anything anywhere.

I have no excuses. People with much busier lives than mine have managed to write and publish entire books since May 30.

So I’m committing to getting back in the saddle during NaNoWriMo. I’m not writing a novel, but I’m shooting to post on one of my three blogs (here, Minnesota Transplant and Clickago Storywerks) every day this month.

My theory is that writing something is better than writing nothing. I love writing a blog. It offers me the sense of immediate satisfaction, immediate gratification (yes, I’m paying attention when you like a post or make a comment) and adding to a word count. So it’s not a novel or a memoir or a book of any sort, but it does signify publication and audience. So I’m giving myself credit instead of grief.

A writer cannot call herself a writer if she doesn’t write.

“We are a species that needs and wants to understand who we are. Sheep lice do not seem to share this longing, which is one reason why they write so little.”

~ Anne Lamott

 

Leave a Reply

