The paperback reveal

No matter how many times you handle your manuscript, or print it out, or turn it into an ebook, it just doesn’t feel like a book until it’s in book form: Printed, cut, collated, glued and in your hands. 

Then it feels like a book.

I print my paperbacks with CreateSpace, Amazon’s print-on-demand distributor. Like everything else Amazon, CreateSpace is efficient, affordable and quick-to-ship (oh, and Amazon takes a cut, of course, for all these results; that’s capitalism at work, people).

The day my first paperback version of a book arrives is a day to celebrate indeed. And it’s a good thing! We’re only a week away from launch!

Truth, Dare, Double Dare, Promise or Repeat is the story of the year I turned 15 and learned to French kiss.

This proof was tricky to get right. I fiddled with it in Microsoft Word for nearly two weeks and saved it at least three dozen times. It took me a while to figure out the images in the text.

Yes, there are cute little black-and-white images of me at 15 in the text. How fun!

Here’s a tip for you self-publishers: Normally for a text-only manuscript, I can upload a Microsoft Word version of the page design. But when I did that with this manuscript, which includes six images in the text, the pages reflowed and made my Table of Contents inaccurate. The only way around this was to create a pdf version of the layout.

The other challenge I faced was trying to use an open type font. You must use true type fonts, not open type fonts, you must embed them, and honestly, it’s smarter to upload a pdf in any case. If any of this is over your head, you might want to consider hiring a book designer for your paperback.

In any case, these problems forced me to debug my manuscript multiple times before I could get a decent printed proof. But in the end, I succeeded! And now other lovers of the printed word will be able to read True, Dare, Double Dare, Promise or Repeat: On Finding the Meaning of “Like” in 1982.

* * *

blogging-bonanza-bugIn the words of Private Hudson, made memorable by the late, great Bill Paxton, “Oh, man … and I was getting short.” Truth, Dare, Double Dare, Promise or Repeat: On Finding the Meaning of “Like” in 1982 comes out in one week, and I’ve been celebrating with a month-long blogging bonanza. I’ll be blogging here every day until the end of this month about my book, about memoirs in general and about the launch.

 

One thought on “The paperback reveal

Leave a Reply

