The relevance of the blue shoes on the cover

Once upon a time, there lived an unhappy girl. For she had to work hard all day for her wicked stepmother and only when evening came was she allowed to sit for a while by the fire, near the cinders. That is how she got her nickname, for everybody called her Cinderella.

Cinderella’s fairy tale comes to a happy conclusion when Prince Charming tracks her down with the glass slipper she left behind at the ball. The shoe fits, and true loves are reunited.

With similar flare for footwear, Truth, Dare, Double Dare, Promise or Repeat begins and, spoiler alert, ends with a pair of blue shoes. The electric blue ballet slippers were real. I loved those plastic-and-satin shoes for their unique look and low heels (I was self-conscious of my freakishly tall height). The autobiographical story begins mysteriously when I find a single blue shoe in my locker, and the shoes are recalled at various times when I needed a metaphor.

final-ecover-rgbMetaphor for what, curious readers want to know? For the blue shoes were worthy enough to make the cover, they surely must carry weight.

Well, in Cinderella’s story, the glass slipper was a metaphor for her virginity. In fact, some experts suggest the glass slipper, or pantoufle de verre in French, could possibly have been a misinterpretation of the term pantoufle de vair, which means fur slipper. I’ll leave the symbolism of a fur slipper with a perfect fit to your imagination.

To be clear, the blue shoes in my story do not symbolize my virginity, though in telling the story of how I learned to French kiss, I am certainly telling a story of my burgeoning sexuality.

When I began writing what became Truth, Dare, Double Dare, Promise or Repeat, I opened with the blue shoe to create some suspense which I could resolve later. But when I came to writing the ending, I found the blue shoes to be the perfect bookend, an effective metaphor for sexual knowledge (not to be confused with carnal knowledge).

So the blue ballet shoes among a row of black high heels on the cover are special and unique indeed.

A perfect fit.

* * *

blogging-bonanza-bugTruth, Dare, Double Dare, Promise or Repeat: On Finding the Meaning of “Like” in 1982 is now available on Amazon, and I’ve been celebrating with a month-long blogging bonanza. I have been blogging here every day until the end of this month about my book, about memoirs in general and about the launch. Have I piqued your interest?

The paperback is $11.95 and available here.

The Kindle edition is $3.95. If you’re a member of KindleUnlimited or Amazon Prime, it’s FREE! Click here.

Leave a Reply

